Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base Mint Choux Review

Published February 19, 2013 by Beauty-full Dreams

From the day it was revealed late January, Etude House Sweet Recipe spring makeup line has been the talk of the town among Korean cosmetics enthusiasts, generating big expectations and a lot of anticipation. When the yummy pastry-like items were finally released on February 1rst, they sold like hot cakes (I know, it was an easy one 😉 ) to the point of being sold-out in several Korean Etude House stores. And when the brand started a 20-30% sale on February 13th, 3/4 of the Sweet Recipe cosmetics were already gone by the 2nd day of the 4-day campaign ! Pretty impressive, right ?

As you already know if you read my previous posts, I ordered some of these items on their debut day, so let’s find out now if the Sweet Recipe line was worth all the hype it created !

First, here are my thoughts on the Baby Choux Base :

ehbbchou0.jpg

Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base comes in 3 colors : Mint Choux (#01), Berry Choux (#02) and Peach Choux (#03). Since my fair skin has a pink undertone, I didn’t want to accentuate it so I only got the Mint and Peach ones.

ehbbchou11.jpg

But today, I’ll only focus on the Mint Choux base (you’ll understand why at the end of this review 😉 ).

ehbbchou3.jpg

For those who don’t know what the Sweet Recipe line is about, the cosmetics are all based off cake shop items, like decorated chocolates, cookies, candy canes, ice creams, cupcakes, chocolate bars or in this case choux à la crème (cream puffs). Hence the sugary sweet packagings 🙂

Etude House even gives you the recipe for a “baby choux skin” ^-^

ehbbchou6.jpg

The vaguely choux-shaped glass and plastic jar hides a soft light green base that turns into a smooth powdery texture once applied on your face. Don’t be fooled by the lack of scent inside the jar, the base do have a strong floral-fruity fragrance when you spread it on your skin, that later gives way to a light caster sugar smell with a faint hint of mint.

And here comes the first problem :

I initially took some photos of the Mint Choux base on the back on my hand to show you how it looks. But my skin tone + the base were too much paleness for my camera to handle, no matter the settings. So I took some pics of my mum’s hand instead :

ehbbchou8.jpg

In case you wonder, all my makeup photos are taken under natural light.

ehbbchou9.jpg

None of us have ever used M.A.C products but from what I saw, my mum should be a NW20-NW25. And yet, look at how white the Mint Choux base is !

ehbbchou10-a.jpg

Doesn’t get any better once blended !

Then, I asked her to try it on her face… Gasp ! It turned out the same greenish white you can see on her hands. Since it’s a base, meaning that it has to be used under a foundation or BB cream, we tried with her usual cosmetics, Holika Holika Petit BB Moisture (the purple one) and Holika Holika Petit BB Watery (the green one). It wasn’t just still too pale, it actually got worse ! Even her Baviphat Naughty Girl 3D Professional Foundation #2 didn’t work !

At this point, I bravely decided to try it on my own face. My gosh, what have I done ?! By M.A.C standards, I should be a NC15 and maybe even lighter, still the Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base could have secured me the leading role in the next Hollywood vampire blockbuster ! It was WAY too pale for me !

So, for the sake of this review and my lovely readers, I tried various combinations of products to make it less… unhuman-like.

ehbbchou12-0.jpg

First, I put Baviphat Naughty Girl 3D Professional Foundation #2 over the base. Then I tried the Mint Choux base with Holika Holika Peach Girl BB Cream #2.

ehbbchou12.jpg

Both belong to my mum, which means that both are at least a shade darker than my skin tone. None of them worked…

ehbbchou5.jpg

Being the stubborn me, I then thought that maybe eye and lip makeup could balance the surnatural paleness. Strong eye & lip makeup : Holika Holika Jewel-light Waterproof Eyeliner Purple Amethyst, Peripera My Color Eyes #33 (Golden Blue) and Lioele Bubi Bubi Tint Balm Tropical Raspberry. Wrong move… It did nothing for my ghastly complexion but made my eye and lip makeup look so much darker (a vampire drag-queen now ? should I call Van Helsing before things get too out of control ?)

In a last-ditch effort to regain some of my former appearance, I chose the most powerful weapons I owned : Tony Moly Cristal Blusher #7 and Etude House Aloa V-line Slim Maker #1 Wood Brown & Sun Gold. I brushed (with the Baviphat Magic Girl Brush Set) the Wood Brown powder over Holika Holika Peach BB Cream, it was much better but still a bit light. I used the Cristal Blusher over the Baviphat Naughty Girl foundation and… I finally looked ok. Not tan, just ok. The fight was over, I finally looked human again !

Joking aside, I can’t believe I had to pile up a foundation 1 or 2 shades darker than my complexion and a sculpting blusher over the Mint Choux base to get rid of the extreme whiteness, me who’s a NC15 at most and who used a Bourjois liquid white base under the lighter shade of my Bourjois foundation when I was younger…

Sweet Talk :

“This light and fluffy choux cream-like makeup base creates baby choux skin with its moist inside and soft smoothness on the outside”

The Naked Truth :

Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base -Mint Choux- does have a very light texture, it’s really easy to apply and you don’t feel it at all on your skin. I don’t quite agree with the “fluffy” part though. Judging from the name and the CF, I was expecting a kind of whipped cream but it’s actually more of a soft filling cream.

I won’t go as far as calling this base “moisturizing” either. Granted, it doesn’t dry out the skin and you can even use it without moisturizer if you have normal skin but it won’t be enough for dry skins. On the other hand, it truly makes your skin softer and more beautiful, even after removing your makeup. And it contains several good ingredients for the skin like coton, dandelion, milk proteins, safflower and salvia hispanica (a plant belonging to the mint family) :

ehbbchou2.jpg

Even though it’s not mentioned by Etude House, there’s a point that bothers me about this Mint Choux base. In makeup, green is used to cancel redness but this base doesn’t cancel anything. Whether it’s a pimple or rosacea, it will still show through. This is due to the fact that, even if it didn’t turn into such a pale white color on the skin, the greyish light green of the base isn’t pigmented enough to cover anything.

So, Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base -Mint Choux- in a nutshell…

Nice Texture ? Yes, but not as fluffy as marketed

Pleasant smell ? Not for me but maybe other people will like it

Easy to use ? Yes

Comfortable ? Yes, even without moisturizer

Effective ? No, doesn’t cancel redness and is way too white

Good value ? Not really ($10.51/25g)

To be (brutally) honest, Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base -Mint Choux- is a letdown. It has a great concept, an adorable packaging, a pleasant texture, a comfortable feel, a beautifying effect on the skin and yet everything is mostly spoiled by the ultra-pale color it takes once applied and the lack of redness control. If you don’t mind using a foundation (it won’t work with BB creams because they can’t oxidize) 2 shades darker than your skin tone or a foundation 1 shade darker and a pact 1-2 shades darker, or if you wish to attain a much whiter complexion without whitening skincare, then go ahead, you might actually like this product. For everyone else, you probably want to stay away from Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base -Mint Choux.

The good news is the Peach Choux version produces very different results, as you will see next time in a less scary but less epic review ^_^

7 comments on “Etude House Sweet Recipe Baby Choux Base Mint Choux Review

    • Yes, I was expecting something like a creamier and lighter version of the Maybelline Mousse line 😦 Still, it’s a very pleasant texture 🙂

      Thank you very much for following my blog, I’m happy you like it ! I followed you back ^^

  • Leave a Reply

